常见问题及回答

在这里你可以找到一些关于植物学、我们的产品和环境的问题和答案。 如果有任何其他疑问,您可以直接联系我们,我们将很乐意帮助您。

  1. 什么是椰糠?
  2. 为什么要用椰糠代替泥炭?
  3. 椰糠是有机的吗?
  4. 什么是缓冲?
  5. 缓冲处理如何影响生产环境?
  6. Botanicoir 的种植袋对环境友好吗?
  7. 斯里兰卡和印度的季风季节是否会给椰糠干燥带来问题?
  8. Botanicoir种植袋是标准化的还是为每个种植者定制的?
  9. Botanicoir提供适合蓝莓种植的产品吗?
  10. 在种植袋和种植槽中种植有什么不同?
  11. Botanicoir是一个有道德的公司吗?

什么是椰糠?

椰糠(也称为椰子土, 椰壳纤维或椰子纤维)是一种来自椰子壳的天然生长介质。 椰子本身主要用于食品和化妆品行业,从椰子壳中提取的长纤维用于制造绳索和刷子,以及其他许多东西,椰壳的纤维粉末和短纤维等副产品用于制造我们的产品。

椰糠是一种优良的,可持续供给的用于替代其他生长介质的栽培基质,并具有良好的吸水性能,可以很好地锁住养分。

经过生产加工后的产品被压缩成所需的尺寸并包装好,以便运输。在到达最终地点后,种植者可以简单地将干燥压缩的产品铺设好,然后浇水泡发,节省了加工运输湿椰壳土的成本。

为什么要用椰糠代替泥炭?

椰糠是一种可再生资源,不像泥炭藓要经过了几个世纪才能形成。在园艺栽培里,传统上广泛地使用泥炭导致了自然沼泽(沼泽地)的枯竭,而沼泽是我们野生生物遗产的重要组成部分。泥炭藓的挖取危害了独特而脆弱的湿地生态系统,因为只在泥炭沼泽中发现了许多对环境高度适应的动植物物种。在世界上的湿地正在以惊人的速度遭到破坏。我们都可以通过使用替代泥炭的基质,例如椰糠,来为保护泥炭沼泽发挥自己的作用。 点击这里了解更多关于我们如何保护环境的内容。

椰糠是有机的吗?

我们未冲洗的或洗过的椰糠是100%的来自椰壳纤维。在洗涤过程 中只使用淡水来去除一些由生长过程产生的作物不需要的盐分。 我们所有的有机产品都是列入了 美国有机物质检查委员会(OMRI 的清单,同样的产品也被以下机构验证为不含塑料成分的产品。 英国土壤协会

什么是缓冲?

椰糠的处理过程我们称为“缓冲”,它包括在硝酸钙溶液中浸泡洗过的椰壳纤维粉末,然后再用清水冲洗。 处理了之后获得了除去了多余的盐分(钠, 氯, 钾, 硼)的混合物,如果把这些盐留在基质中,可能会对一些幼苗有害,特别是 育苗期浆果生产 软的水果 期。

在椰糠生产过程中进行缓冲处理而不是在农场,给种植者带来的最大好处是安心,因为所有种植区域基质里的颗粒都被均匀地缓冲了。 在农场里通过灌溉系统进行缓冲时,要面临种植袋里的小部分或一些区域没有得到与周围环境相同的缓冲的风险,从而导致植物生长不一致。

缓冲处理如何影响生产环境?

早期的生产中,缓冲产生的废水稀释之后刚好作为营养液供给周 围120英亩的椰子、香蕉和菠萝种植园。 但是,在过去的几年里, 随着我们产量的增加,废水量和日常用水量显著增加,我们意识 到需要有废水处理系统。基于此,Botanicoir公司在其位于斯里兰 卡的生产基地安装了最先进的废水处理系统。该装置是我们环境 战略的一部分,其目的是确保持续生产的可能性。 点击这里 阅读更多。

Botanicoir 的种植袋对环境友好吗?

环保已经成为我们的生产标准,我们在所有需要塑料包装的产品,如种植袋和敞口容器中使用可回收塑料。 最近,我们开始提供生物可降解塑料,为环保意识更强的种植者提供选择。请点击这里查阅更多我们有关环保政策的资料。 点击这里 有关我们的环境政策的更多信息。

斯里兰卡和印度的季风季节是否会给椰糠干燥带来问题?

这种情况一直都存在,但在2016年,我们很骄傲地成为第一个使 用机械干燥系统的椰壳生产商,该系统可以在不破坏任何颗粒的 情况下达到压缩所需的水分水平。 点击这里 阅读更多.

Botanicoir种植袋是标准化的还是为每个种植者定制的?

我们根据种植者的需要专门制作每一种产品,从椰糠混合和缓冲冲洗到与种植袋配套的塑形。 我们可以做最长120cm,宽度和高度按需定制的种植袋。我们还可以按要求在种植袋上预切种植孔,滴头孔和排水孔,不收取额外的费用。我们也可以根据需要,钻洞到椰糠块的滴管点,以加速厚板的湿润。我们使用的所有塑料都是高质量的,抗紫外线处理的,可回收或生物降解的。 我们提供白色和黑色塑料来适应不同的气候,如果需要,他们可以选择黑色塑料袋包装以获得额外热量,以便提前采摘。

Botanicoir提供适合蓝莓种植的产品吗?

近年来的流行趋势是种植者使用100%的椰糠混合物种植蓝莓。 点击这里 查看更多关于我们的蓝莓产品。.

在种植袋和种植槽中种植有什么不同?

对于那些寻求灵活栽培方式的要在种植槽里生产的种植者,我们 可以提供无袋包装的椰糠板,简单地把它放在槽中浇水即可。 这样就提供了一种更灵活的种植方式,意味着每米的栽培数量可 点击这里 查看更多关于种植袋或槽的利弊。

Botanicoir是一个有道德的公司吗?

作为环保、可持续发展基质的生产者,我们特别注意确保我们的运营方式符合道德规范。在采购原材料时,我们只选择那些在对待员工和生产程序方面符合高标准的工厂。

我们尽力保持自己工厂最好的工作条件。 我们有严格的禁止使用 童工的政策,规定了工作时间,并在轮班中实施了有规律、充足 的休息时间。 管理人员经常在场监督,以确保健康和安全措施都 惠及所有员工的福利包括高于行业平均水平的工资、医疗保健计划和所有员工的工作 餐以及往返工厂的交通。

FacebookTwitterInstaGramLinkedIn

Botanicoir

Botanicoir公司发展事件

我们很乐意通过我们的季度通讯与大家分享我们的最新消息。
请在下方给我们提供您的详细信息,
我们将把您添加到我们的邮箱地址中

FAQs

Here you will find a selection of questions and answers about Botanicoir, our products and the environment. If you have any other queries, you can contact us directly and we will be happy to assist.

  1. What is coir?
  2. Why use coir over peat?
  3. Is coir organic?
  4. What is buffering?
  5. How does buffering impact the production environment?
  6. Are Botanicoir grow bags environmentally friendly?
  7. Are there problems with drying coir due to the monsoon season in Sri Lanka and India?
  8. Are Botanicoir growbags standardised or customised for each grower?
  9. Does Botanicoir offer products suitable for blueberries?
  10. What is the different between growing in grow bags and troughs?
  11. Is Botanicoir ethically responsible?

What is coir?

Coir (also known as cocopeat, coir fibre or coconut fibre) is a natural growing media made from the husk of a coconut. The coconuts themselves are used primarily for the food and cosmetics industries, the long fibres from the husks are used to make ropes and brushes, among many other things, and the coir pith and shorter fibres are the bi-products that we use to make our products.

Cocopeat is a great sustainable alternative to other growing media and has excellent absorption properties so it can hold nutrients very well.

After production, the product is compressed into the required size and packaged ready for transport. On arrival at the final site, the grower can simply lay the compressed and dried products out and then rehydrate in-situ, avoiding the process and cost of moving wet cocopeat.

Why use coir over peat?

Coir is a renewable resource unlike peat moss, which has taken centuries to evolve. The extensive use of traditional peat moss in horticulture has resulted in the depletion of natural bogs (swamps), an essential part of our wildlife heritage. Peat moss extraction harms the unique and fragile wetlands ecosystem, as there are many highly adapted plant and animal species that are found only in peat bogs. The destruction of the world’s wetlands is progressing at an alarming rate. We can all play our part in assuring the conservation of peat bogs by using alternative substrates to peat moss such as coir. Click here to see more about how we care for the environment.

Is coir organic?

Our unwashed or washed coir is made from 100% coir, with nothing more than fresh water used to in the washing process to remove some of the less desirable salts that occur naturally. All our organic products are OMRI listed and those same products without plastic are approved by the Soil Association in the UK.

What is buffering?

The process that we call “buffering” involves soaking the washed coir pith in a calcium nitrate solution before flushing again with fresh water. This gives a mix that has the unwanted salts (Na, Cl, K, Bo) removed, which if left in the substrate can be detrimental to some young plants, especially during propagation, or for soft fruit production.

One of the main benefits of doing this in production, rather than on farm, is that growers can have peace of mind that all the particles are buffered equally across their growing area. When done on farm via the irrigation system, there can be a risk that small parts of a bag or sector are not buffered the same as the surrounding, resulting in uneven plant growth.

How does buffering impact the production environment?

In the past it was sufficient to dilute the waste water from buffering and supply it as a nutrient solution to fertigate the surrounding 120 acres of coconut, banana and pineapple plantations. But, over the last few years, as our production has increased, the amount of waste water and our daily water consumption has risen significantly, and we realised the need for some kind of waste water treatment system. Due to this, Botanicoir has installed a state-of-the-art waste water treatment system at its production site in Sri Lanka. The installation is part of our environmental strategy, which has the aim of ensuring the most sustainable production possible. Please click here to read more.

Are Botanicoir grow bags environmentally friendly?

As standard we have always used recyclable plastic for all of our products that require plastic packaging, such as grow bags and OTCs. More recently we have started offering bio-degradable plastic to give the more environmentally conscious growers the option to choose. Please click here for more information about our environmental policies.

Are there problems with drying coir due to the monsoon season in Sri Lanka and India?

This was always the case, but in 2016 we were proud to be the first coir producer to implement a mechanical coir drying system that achieves the necessary moisture levels for compression, without damaging any of the particles. Please click here to read more.

Are Botanicoir growbags standardised or customised for each grower?

We make each product specifically to the growers needs, from the coir mix and buffering to the plastic of the bag. We can make the grow bags in sizes up to 120cm in length, with width and height as required. We are equally flexible on the planting, dripper, and drainage holes that we can pre-cut in the grow bag, if required, at no extra cost. We also can drill holes, as required, directly into the coir at dripper points to facilitate wetting up the slabs. All the plastic that we use is high quality, UV treated and recyclable or bio-degradable. We offer both white and black plastic to suit different climates, giving the grower the option to gain the extra heat absorbed by black plastic for early picking if required.

Does Botanicoir offer products suitable for blueberries?

In recent years, there has been a huge movement towards growers using 100% coir mixes for their blueberry crops. Please click here to see more about our blueberry products.

What is the different between growing in grow bags and troughs?

For growers looking for the flexibility of growing in troughs, we can provide naked slabs of coir to simply place in the trough and rehydrate. This gives a more flexible method of growing, meaning that numbers of plants per meter can be changed year on year, and the troughs can be moved around without disturbing the rooting of the plant. Please click here to see more about the pros and cons of growing in grow bags or troughs.

Is Botanicoir ethically responsible?

As a producer of an environmentally friendly, sustainable growing media, we take particular care to ensure that the way we operate is ethically responsible. When sourcing raw materials, we only select coir mills that operate to high standards with regards to their employees and procedures.

We strive to maintain the best working conditions in our own factory. We have a strict no child labour policy, set working hours and have implemented regular, ample rest periods into the shifts. Supervisors are constantly present to ensure that the health and safety measures are always met. We are particularly proud of the benefits available to all employees, including a wage that is above the industry average, a healthcare scheme, meals at work for all employees, and transport to and from the factory.

FacebookTwitterInstaGramLinkedIn

Botanicoir

Growing Matters from Botanicoir

We’d love to share our news and updates with you throughout
the year via our quarterly newsletters. Please share your details
with us below and we will add you to our mailing list.